To Be Perfectly Honest

This may be the only place where I can say whats honestly going through this crazy mind of mine. Im going through a divorce with the man that I love with all of my heart and soul and I feel whats brought us here has mostly to do with rushing into things too fast and many life changes and circumstances that we werent ready for that rocked our world in the first 2 years of us being together (military life, new baby, adjusting to civillian life, financial hardships, alcohol dependancy, my soon to be ex learning how to be a father to my two boys and then having a baby) it was all a bit much. We married before we got pregnant, but we were together for 6 months before he had his deployment for 6 months and then returned and we got married 3 months later. Anyway, the fact of the matter is there was a lot of damage done emotionally since we didnt deal with all of it the “right” way and here we are 3 1/2 years into our marriage and getting a divorce. This is not what I wanted, its not what I want, he says its not what he wants BUT I feel this is what needs to be done to wipe the slate clean and maybe we can learn to develope a friendship and if its meant for it to slowly turn into something more then I will let life determine that. I know it sounds crazy, but he has been seeing someone else for emotional support (and so he can use her car) of course I am resentful of that however I find relief in knowing now that we are in the process of divorcing its not so much my concern. I am able to focus on me and my children and take care of us. He can do what he needs to do to work on himself and either choose to be constructive with his time or destructive, right now its not my concern (although I do worry about him.) I feel like im crazy to think that divorcing may help eventually bring us back together! lol Who does that? Maybe I’m still in denial of this coming to an end even though I’m the one pursuing it? How does that work? I feel emotionally we are both in the same boat as far as loving each other deeply but it just not being what we need to focus on. Does this make any sense? If I tried to explain it to my friends they would say I’m out of my mind and to just let him go. I figure time will determine what I’m suppose to do with my feelings for him. We talked today and he was saying how he can smell the change in the air and knows Summer is right around the corner and is sad that we wont be doing our summer stuff together, I suggested we do as friends…. he didn’t say much about that but it didn’t seem like he was entirely against it, he is just worried that would be hard emotionally. I think it could be an opportunity to bond as friends, something we didn’t get to do in the beginning. Maybe I’m crazy, IDK. What do you think?

2 thoughts on “To Be Perfectly Honest

  1. It’s hard to let go but I don’t think that this situation is one if which you are going to win…
    In that, I mean that you need to decide what you want and go after that. Itnseems like you are conflicted in what younwant with your ex and lord knows I have been there. It is hard. And as much as people say it will, it doesn’t get easier. But trust me when I say: evaluate why you should or should not be together. Write out a brutally honest list. And if there is more bad than good, and more that can’t be overcome than can, then you need to let go, completely, so you can move on. There is no reason to go back to nothing, or hope for something, when you have everything ahead.
    Good luck mama. Hugs!

    • I met him when he was 23, now he is 28, he has a lot of personal issues to overcome that only he can do and focus on alone. I think that given the time and healing and redirection of our focus on our own personal issues it would be possible to be what we need in each other as partners, I do not feel at this time we are good for one another. Like I said only time will tell what is to be determined in our future, but I know right now ending this marriage that has become so toxic and overwhelming is whats best for all of us. Right now I know what Im doing is right. Thanks for the feedback! I appreciate it 🙂

Leave a comment